Further information on my Grandfather

As I have mentioned in my first post, both of my grandfathers were WWII veterans, but only my grandfather on my mother’s side saw time overseas in Europe.
Since joining the Atlantic Canadian World War II Living History Association, I’ve been trying to find out everything I can about him, where he’s been, what unit he belonged to, etc.
Very slowly, with the help of my grandmother, I’ve been learning more and more about my grandfather.
I’ve come into possession of a lot of his original WWII kit and I even have the beret he was issued, and just a few days ago, I was sent another picture of him in uniform.

So far, what I’ve learned about him is that he enlisted in 1943 and was in the armoured division. At the end of the war, my grandfather returned to civil life in Fredericton, New Brunswick.
His rank was Trooper, and service number was G51595.

20121009-123822.jpg

This is a picture of my grandfather, that my grandmother mailed me a few days ago.

This entry was posted in WWII and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

