My thoughts on Remembrance Day

Sadly, I was unable to partake in any Remembrance Day ceremonies today as I spent most of my day at work, but luckily I was able to catch a few moments of the Remembrance Day ceremony held in Ottawa on tv before I started my shift today.

I don’t know why, but one of my most favorite parts of any Remembrance Day ceremony is hearing The Last Post play and I was able to catch that part of the Ottawa ceremony as well as the national anthem and a very wonderful story from a woman WWII veteran who worked in one of the hospitals.

I always say that it seemed the younger generation, doesn’t quite appreciate what Remembrance Day is and means to us, but every year I’m always moved by the ceremony on tv and seeing the amount of young children taking part in the ceremony and seeing school children showing an appreciation for our veterans definitely shows me that while some kids don’t know who “Smokey” Smith was, there’s still a lot more that even if they don’t know who “Smokey” Smith was, they still leave a poopy at the memorial to honor our veterans.

I am very sad that both my grandfathers are no longer alive and I can’t tell them how proud I am for their service and that I’m always going to remember them.

I’d love to be able to sit down with and talk. My grandfather on my mother’s side was in the Royal Canadian Armored Corps, and I’d love to find out where he was, as he did make it to Europe and made it home after the war.

Seeing the amount of Remembrance Day related pictures on my Instagram feed was definitely moving and being able to see pictures from all over Canada and the US of ceremonies and vets definitely made my day.

I hope that our children continue to honor our veterans, as I will continue to honor those who served, everyday.
Not a day goes by that I think about why I’m able to live a free life and be the person I am, and not a day goes by that I think about my grandfathers.

R.I.P

Lest We Forget

Thank you to those who served in a time of need, and thank you to those currently serving to make a difference to those in Afghanistan who do not have a voice.

There are men and women, everyday fighting for freedom who deserve to be thanked for protecting us, and serving their country in the greatest way possible.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

